Posted by: sweetpea | June 18, 2008

Still leaking!

We had rain last night, so this morning on the way to work I popped to the lottie to see how my repair job had faired.  I was slightly disappointed to find that the stuff I used doesn’t seem to work as well as I’d hoped as some of the connections are still leaking.  I don’t know if this is because they weren’t completely dry when I applied the stuff (although it made no mention of needing to be dry on the tube), or whether maybe they hadn’t had sufficient time to dry before it started to rain.

So looks like I’m going to have to either re-do some of my work, but this time be more thorough on making sure it’s all dry and clean, or think of something else, or maybe a combination!

Any suggestions would be welcome :-)

Responses

  1. If you want to make sure you get a good seal it’s important that all surfaces are clean and dry. Ideally, you should empty out the water, clean all the surfaces and make sure they’re completely dry before sealing. Don’t just seal on the outside – if you can, try to seal from the inside as well. Otherwise the hydrostatic pressure can weaken the seal and cause leaks.

  2. Thanks Greg, I hadn’t considered sealing it from the inside too, and from what you’ve described I think some of the leaking is from the hydrostatic pressure. They are holding some water at the moment but I think come winter I’ll drain them and dry them out and try sealing them from the inside too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

