Posted by: sweetpea | May 27, 2005

my little plot of tranquility…

Thought I’d post a couple of pics of my allotment 🙂 It’s looking rather more overgrown at the moment, but hopefully by the end of this bank holiday it’ll look more like a veg plot than a wilderness. I only wish my veg would grow as quickly as the grass and weeds! Will take some before and after photo’s to post.

 

So far I have potatoes (earlies and maincrop), peas, runner beans, fennel, spinach, onions, red onions, garlic, beetroot, lettuce, and a couple of tomato plants growing. Hopefully by the end of the weekend I’ll have planted my courgette and squash plants out, possibly also the rest of the tomatoes, peppers and aubergines. Also hoping to sow some more spinach, sweetcorn, and anything else I can find room for 🙂

Responses

  1. A nice bit of old carpet will help you keep your weeds down whilst you aren’t growing anything. *resists temptation to start talking about permaculture and lasagne gardening*

  2. something I keep meaning to do, although I think old carpet makes it look a bit untidy, I guess I just like to see green things 🙂 getting some membrane to cover the weeds at far end at the weekend as I’ve discovered ground elder there..argh! problem with carpet and not having a car is getting hold of it, luckily we have an allotment shop, and I know they have the membrane for sale and should be cheap. Sue and Steve have both told me about lasagne gardening and I keep meaning to give it a try, but this year I couldn’t get hold of enough compost to dig into the soil let alone cover it. Recon I’ll give it a go next year though. I thought I knew what permaculture was, but I’ve just googled and realised that it is something entirely different. have heard of it though, will have to read more into it as it sounds like something worth investigating.


Leave a Reply

Categories

