Posted by: sweetpea | July 12, 2005

Rats!?!

I went to the lottie after work last night to try and cut some of the grass, as you can see it’s got rather long! I’m using a scythette, or rather trying to use it. Haven’t quite got the hang of it yet, although last night’s attempt was more successful than the first. I managed to clear the patch in front of the shed before the heat got the better of me. I then went and weeded the squash bed so I can actually see where my plant are now!
I’d hoped to have fresh peas for my tea, but alas the rat beat me to them..argh!??!! Have now declared war and am going to put down poison, not what I want, but I’m not having all my crops eaten again this year. It’s so depressing to see all my hard work get eaten by a pesky rat, if it wasn’t eating my crops I wouldn’t mind it hanging around on my plot, although I know they carry diseases so maybe it is best to get rid of it.
I did dig up my garlic though and have a reasonable crop. And some fresh new potatoes for tea..mmm 🙂


Responses

  1. hello kate

    You grow garlic!!

  2. I do indead, going to use some tonight in fact. It’s supposed to be nicest straight out from the ground.
    Would send you soke but I think it would get to bruuised in the post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

