Posted by: sweetpea | August 14, 2005

Best new gate in the world :-)

I’ve just got back from the lottie, and I just had to blog about the new gate Steve spent all afternoon creating for me. He was even there in the poring rain yesterday!
Last year he made me a new gate which I thought was fantastic. And I can see you’re thinking ‘it couldn’t have been all that fantastic if he’s had to build another one this year!’ But you see, that one is still going strong. The problem was that up until today I had to enter my lottie through my neighbours lottie, which had been working Ok. My new neighbours have plans to move the gate to the centre of their lottie, and had asked if I’d mind moving my entrance to the front of mine. Fair enough I thought, although I suspected I wouldn’t get around to it for a while.
Anyhow, I’d mentioned this to Steve and asked if he’d like to help being as I like to have a go at DIY but most of the time I don’t really know what I’m doing! So he’s set 2 posts in concrete, and created a new gate by cutting it out of the front fence. And he’s made me a ramp so I can get my wheelbarrow in and out easily. It needs a little tweeking as the concrete hadn’t set properly, and some chicken wire to keep the rabbits out. Then it’ll be perfect 🙂

This is the front fence where the new gate will be.
Steve putting on the finishing touches……
….and Voila!
What was I doing while Steve was hard at work?

Well I was spreading muck around my courgettes, Squash and sweetcorn. Not sure if it’s the right thing to do, but they’re looking a bit sad so thought they could do with some food. Have a funny feeling I might not get any sweetcorn again this year, but it won’t be because of the rat!
Then I set about clearing out the old greenhouse so we can decide what we can salvage to make a new one. It is so full of bindweed, I am getting very close to thinking it might be worth using a contact herbicide on it as I’m pretty sure that unless I want to abandon the greenhouse for a couple of years, that’ll be the only way to do it. I do have one other possible idea though which might be worth a go.
Before Steve arrived I got to test the new rotivator the allotment has bought. It was good, although I still prefer digging so probably won’t be hiring it.

Some of this years produce 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

