Posted by: sweetpea | August 28, 2005

Lummelunda by tandem

Tonight I’m feeling more knackered than ever.  The reason – we hired a tandem and cycled to lummelunda caves and back via Bro.
I’ve never ridden a tandem before, and I’m not sure if I ever will again.  It was a lot of fun I must admit, but so uncomfortable.  I was at the back, but did have a go at the front for about 50m before deciding that I wasn’t confident enough to steer us straight!
At Lummelunda caves we had a 30min tour underground at 8°C.  My hands, feet and nose were a bit too cold for my liking, but it was very interesting.  We saw drip stones, stalagmites, stalactites, and some other interesting formations.
After the caves we headed to Bro to see the church. It didn’t look open, but the key was in the door so I suggested we let ourselves in for a quick peek.  We saw a bronze age burial mound on the way back to Visby which looked more like a pile of rubble.
Back in Visby, we did a grocery shop to save some cash, and had a fantastic meal of chicken, potatoes and salad. Then went for a wonder around the streets before heading back to the hostel for ice cream and to read.
Tomorrow morning we have to return the bike, unfortunately this will mean we miss the early bus to Fårösund.

Leave a Reply

Categories

