Posted by: sweetpea | October 3, 2005

Cotswolds

Well, I have a dodgy tummy again today, and I don’t know whether it’s down to being back at work or different water…… Anyhow I had it after Sweden and it only lasted a day so I expect tomorrow I’ll be back to normal again 🙂

So where have I been for the past week?  

I’ve been on hols with Mum and Huw (and Rhys briefly) staying in a fantastic cottage in Stow-on-the-Wold, enjoying the Cotswold countryside.
We did loads of walking, mostly 5-6 miles, but 10 miles one day (mum did 10.5 (instead of 7) with her cousin on account of her map reading skills!).  Saw the stone circle and burial sites at Avebury, reminded me a bit of Sweden. Went to Westonbirt Arboretum, and on the way back called at Ryton organic gardens.

Highlights:

  • The trees at Westonbirt were fantastic, and some were already starting to change to Autumn colour, in a few weeks it will be amazing.
  • Seeing a tiny wood mouse at Ryton and getting close enough to photograph it and film it, it was so cute 🙂
  • Seeing a Red Kite on one of the walks
  • Falling in love with all the cottages but not the price tags!
  • Getting ideas for the allotment at Ryton
  • The fact that I didn’t see a single chav for the whole week
  • The food
  • And, the walking 🙂

It’s definitely a place I’ll be re-visiting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

