Posted by: sweetpea | January 13, 2006

Tomatoes

I saved some tomatoes from my harvest, with the aim of saving the seed for this year.  I’d read ages ago how to save the seeds so a week ago I squashed the tomatoes and put them in a jar of water on the windowsill.  This morning I was looking at them and wondering how long they should be left for.  So I looked it up on the internet.  Turns out that tomato seeds need to be fermented first to remove the chemicals that prevent them from germinating, and THEN they should be placed in water to clean them.  So it seems that I have missed out a vital part of the process!
I think I’ll see if I can rescue the situation by straining the solution and seeing if it will still ferment.  Will also do a germination test, you never know they might still grow.

Responses

  1. Thats interesting I’ve never had to do anything to get tomatoes to grow other than let them rot in soil in the greenhouse. They just grow and grow.

  2. The rotting is the same as fermenting, what would happen in the wild. What I’m trying to do is replicate that situation in a jam jar!


Leave a Reply

Categories

