Posted by: sweetpea | February 14, 2006

Greenhouse

Finally I’ve been to collect the ‘greenhouse’ I bagged through freecycle.  It’s taken weeks, but at last it is in my possession, except now I’m not sure what to do with it.

You see what I had been expecting was a mini greenhouse of the type I’d seen in garden centres.  The plan was to cover it in bubble wrap (the original cover had disintegrated) and use it to start off all my veg seeds for this year.

However, what I actually now have in my possession is a walk-in greenhouse, similar to this but as far as I can tell, without the shelving!  So I don’t think it’s going to be that useful for starting off my seeds unless I can work out some shelving system.  If I can do this then it might turn out to be twice as useful as I’d first thought.  I could make a small version to use as a mini greenhouse to start off my seeds.  Then later in the season I could make it into its full size at the lottie and use it to grow peppers and aubergines 🙂

Now all I have to do is figure out how to assemble it, AND find some suitable clear plastic to cover it with.

Oh, and by funny coincidence, the guy I collected it from was someone I used to share a lab with when I was an undergrad in Biology.

Responses

  1. I think you’re right – this could definitely be more useful. I don’t know whether you’ve got a suitable place where you could back it onto a wall and put some cheap mdf shelves fixed to the wall (something like the aluminium adjustable brackets could be quite good?) If you could back it onto a wall I’d avoid bubble-wrapping the back as the wall will also absorb warmth during the day and give it back during the night.

  2. Ah! good point, although I’m not sure I’ll find a suitable wall to put it against. The best position at the house in terms of sunshine is covered in windows! so it may have to be freestanding.
    One of the sites advertising the walk-in greenhouses mentioned something about using greenhouse staging with them, so maybe I’ll look into that, maybe someone on freecycle will have something suitible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

