Posted by: sweetpea | March 10, 2006

Lasagna gardening

Lasagna gardening is a real method of gardening.  It was developed by an American called Patricia Lanza, I think.  It’s a method I learnt about from Steve’s mum Sue, and looking at her veg patch, it’s a very productive and relatively easy method to use.
Basically it involves no digging whatsoever (as far as I can tell).  You start by laying wet newspaper over the ground you want to use to grow your veg, you need a thickness of at least 3 sheets I think, or I guess you could use cardboard.  The purpose of this is to suppress the growth of weeds.  Then you just create a thick layer of organic matter e.g. compost, grass clippings on top in which you grow your veg.  You layer the different organic materials, hence the name 🙂
I haven’t read much about it yet so this is a very basic description of the method.  I recon I’ll try and get hold of one of the books on the subject.  This site gives a bit more info too.

I’ve just read a comment on Amazon that this method is very similar to the mulching method pioneered by a Ruth Stout, so I shall have to find out more about that too.

Responses

  1. Hope I have got this successfully onto your blog…it’s all new to me…In my day (the sixties & seventies) it was called ‘No Dig Gardening’ (very imaginative) but I wasn’t interested then because digging got rid of all my excess energy which might otherwise have been less healthily employed murdering two boistrous young sons but now I need all my energy just to plant the seeds! I have the book by Patricia Lanza the last one in print at the time, if there are any reprints then Roydale Books are the people to contact, otherwise it’s the second hand market…it’s called…wait for it….Lasagne Gardening! A delightful read but once I got the hang of it I just adapted it to suit myself because she BUYS stuff! Rule No1 is if it’s not free don’t use it so everything is recycled. Also I use the premise that nature doesn’t dig it’s own ground it just layers everything on and plant thrive very well. Good Points the soil is fertile and pliable. Possible problem, pests are kept cosy in the winter instead of dying of frost bite! So far a varied mix of vegies and night time fories collecting slugs have kept mine healthy ..Will bring the book up when I come for you to borrow


Leave a Reply

Categories

