Posted by: sweetpea | April 6, 2006

First seedlings of the year..

I popped down the lottie on my way home last night to check on the seeds I’d planted and retrieve the seed potatoes I’d left there at the weekend.  I was amazed to find that about half of all the seeds have germinated and there are little seedlings growing away.  So hopefully if I remember to water them I should have Brussel Sprouts, Cauliflower, Kohl Rabi and Turnips to plant out soon, once they’ve grown a bit bigger.  I’m a little worried about slug and snail damage though.  Think they’ll be ok while in the cold frame but I’m wondering whether they’ll survive out in the open.  Have heard that coffee granules can deter slugs and snails so I’m planning on collecting some from work…good job my colleagues are such heavy coffee drinkers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

