Posted by: sweetpea | April 26, 2006

A wonderful evening for forcing rhubarb….

I popped to the lottie after work yesterday to do some digging.  It was such a lovely evening, the sun shining and the birds singing 🙂  I was working on the next bed, carrying on from where Steve G had finished.  I think I have now dug enough to be able to put in the next path, so shall be popping down again after work.  Hopefully I’ll also have time to plant my white onions, carrots and parsnips in the bed.  Would like to make it a raised bed from the start but I think that would take me too long on my own and I’m not convinced I’d do a good job single-handedly. Need to work out how to break up the pallets first, recon I might need to ask Steve C if I can borrow his crowbar for that job.

I also cleared the weeds from around the rhubarb and put a black bin over it.  I’m pretty sure that I’m a bit late trying to force it, but I thought I’d give it a go anyway.  Forced rhubarb is apparently a lot nicer than if you just leave it to grow naturally.  Pretty sure I need to feed them, so will read up and do so tonight. I passed some lovely forced rhubarb on the way into work this morning, which is why I think I’m pretty late trying this!

I checked which Squash and Pumpkin varieties I’m trying this year and they are:

  • Squash ‘Blue Kuri’
  • Squash ‘Delicata’
  • Squash ‘Jaspee de Vendee’
  • Squash ‘Marina di Chioggia’
  • Pumpkin ‘Jack be little’
  • And the 6th I can’t remember, but might be ‘Trombolino’
  • Will also be trying a decorative gourd.
Leave a Reply

Categories

