Posted by: sweetpea | July 14, 2006

Sweet-peas

I picked some sweet-peas last night to take home and they smell so fantastic, I guess they won’t last long, but my room will smell gorgeous for as long as they do 🙂

I also checked on my squashes and was rather excited to see one of the delicata fruit getting pretty big, although looking at photo’s on the web this morning it looks like it still has a bit of a way to go.  Also spotted a ‘Jack be little’ pumpkin growing, so will have to keep my eye out for a female flower so I can pollinate and hopefully collect some seed for next year.  The trombolino’s are doing great too, quite a few fruit developing.  I’m in two minds as to whether to limit the number of fruit.  I’ve read that if you limit the number you get bigger fruit, but that’s not necessarily good for me as smaller fruit are more useful, but then I don’t know if small fruit will produce enough good seeds.

I now have 2 chilli peppers growing, and I’ve spotted a few female flowers on the melons so I think I’ll try pollinating them myself, although I’m not sure how to prevent insects getting in as the flowers are pretty small.  Picked 3 pea pods last night too, not a lot I know but it’s more than I’ve ever had before since usually the rodents get to them before I do.  The Runner beans are still not doing great so I think I might not grow them next year but grow more climbing French beans which seem to do a lot better, and are more useful for cooking with.

Tonight I shall be giving the whole plot a good drenching, I’m so glad we don’t have a hosepipe ban here!

Leave a Reply

Categories

