Posted by: sweetpea | August 23, 2006

Pinching out squash tips

Last night at the lottie I also went around pinching out the tips of the squash plants.  Easier said than done!  Even if I could see a tip that needed pinching, getting to it was an entirely different matter. Picking your way through a mass of squash plants trying not to step on stems or fruit isn’t easy at all but I think I almost managed it apart from stepping on a few leaves here and there. I picked a trombolino which appeared to be rotting at the seed end, not sure why though. 

I harvested more courgettes and beans and a couple of tomatoes.  I also pulled up a lot of the stir-fry mix I’d sown under the runner beans as they’d started to bolt.  I can see now why they advise you to sow in small batches!  The problem is I forget to sow in batches so I either sow a lot and hope for the best, or I sow a little but forget to re-sow at weekly intervals!  I shall have to try and be more organised next year as it is such a waste having to compost things that have bolted.  Another reason I sow in larger than necessary quantities I guess is that you never know how many are going to germinate.

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to be doing what you are doing Sweet Pea.
    It is just the beginning og the adventure for us, but so excited!

  2. I know how you feel, the start of every year is the same for me, planning what to plant, where to plant it, and wondering whether you’ll have success. Growing your own is definitely hard work, but boy is it rewarding, and very enjoyable too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

