Posted by: sweetpea | August 23, 2006

Watermelon harvesting

I took the plunge and picked my watermelon last night.  I’ve been umming and ahing for so long wondering whether it was ripe or not.  Anyhow, yesterday morning I noticed that the tendril closest to the fruit had started to go brown which I’d read was a sign of ripening.  So I figured it was as good a sign as any as I’m not sure I could tell from taping the fruit.  I was so excited 🙂

I got home and cut out a slice, and it looked like a watermelon inside, a huge relief!  Not quite as red, but then I wouldn’t expect it to be exactly the same as shop bought ones.  Then came the tasting, and I wasn’t disappointed.  Ok, it wasn’t as sweet as the ones you buy, but it was more refreshing, and wonderfully juicy.

'Black Mountain' Watermelon

I shall have to get myself a bigger greenhouse or polytunnel for next year so I can grow more melons, especially since you don’t seem to get many per plant.

Leave a Reply

Categories

