Posted by: sweetpea | September 5, 2006

First Aubergine

I picked my first ever proper aubergine yesterday, I say proper because I did pick one earlier but only because it was starting to rot so it didn’t count.  I wasn’t exactly sure how to tell when they’re ready to pick, and I’m still not sure.  Some sources state that they should be picked when immature once they’ve reached a useable size, to avoid them becoming too ripe and the seeds too large.  Other sources say that they should be picked when mature to avoid the bitter taste of immature ones!  They seem to contradict one another on this point.  However there are a few things all sources seem to say, once the skin has gone dull they are past their best, and they should be picked when they have developed their full colour and are glossy.  So I’m hoping mine will be ok.

first aubergine

I also picked more squashes, 2 butternut, 2 delicata, and 12 or so ‘Jack be little’ pumpkins.  And I put out the peanut butter and poison mixture for the rat, I wonder if it will work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

