Posted by: sweetpea | September 12, 2006

Wollerton Old Hall Garden

Last Sunday on ‘Gardeners Question Time’ I’d heard Chris Beardshaw recommend Woolerton Old Hall Gardens as one of his favourite gardens to visit, especially at this time of the year.  As it wasn’t too far from mum’s house I suggested we visit it on the Sunday and we even managed to persuade Huw to come too.

It was indeed a delightful place to visit.  As much as I love gardens and gardening, I do sometimes find some of the larger gardens a little too big.  Woolerton on the other hand was just perfect.  As soon as you walk in you are taken in by its beauty.  It is in fact a series of smaller gardens separated by box hedges and other screens, each one very individual.  There’s a mixture of very formal looking gardens, including a water garden, and more relaxed gardens, and even a wild garden at the far end where nature seems to have been left to its own devices in what could have been an old orchard.  There’s a rose garden, a white garden, a blue garden.  But I think what had to be my favourite was the breathtaking ‘hot’ garden full of fiery reds, oranges and yellows, I couldn’t get enough of it.

 

hot garden 1

 

hot garden 2

 

Another great thing about the gardens was that there were plenty of places to sit and take it all in, some just garden seats, but others were little garden rooms.  The perfect place to do some entertaining on a summers evening.  I wonder if it is as beautiful during the other seasons.  I’d have liked to have spent some time in the garden along just absorbing it all, especially as I feel now that I probably missed a lot as I was so busy taking photos!

Leave a Reply

Categories

