Posted by: sweetpea | September 15, 2006

Winter Lettuce

I grew up on my mums version of a salad…iceberg lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes with no dressing! So you can imagine that I have not tended to eat much in the way of salad other than in sandwiches because of this early bland experience.  My trip to Italy changed that as I loved the salads we had there, so tasty and varied, and with dressings!

I started to wonder whether it is possible to grow salad all year around outdoors as it would be great to be able to pick fresh salad leaves in the winter months.  Out came the ‘Seeds of Italy’ catalogue and I quickly discovered loads that were suitable for growing into the Autumn and winter.  I narrowed my choice down to the following 4:

  • ROMAINE LETTUCE LENTISSIMA
  • LETTUCE MARAVILLA DE VERANO CANASTA 
  • LETTUCE PARELLA ROSSA/ROUGE DE MONTPELIER 
  • SCAROLA CORNETTO DI BORDEAUX

Last night I sowed a first batch to get things going, and I shall sow some more at weekly intervals I think.  Franchi are really generous with their seeds so I can’t see me running out! 

Responses

  1. I fully agree with what you say about your mum’s salad! My mum was the same!

    I really enjoyed growing my mixed salad leaves for the first time this year and hubby even had some in his sandwiches for work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

