Posted by: sweetpea | September 22, 2006

Crab Apple Jelly

Last night I made a start on making Crab apple jelly with the apples Ernies wife kindly gave me on Sunday. The first job was to take the stalks, flower end and any bad bits off, and then to chop them up. Next I placed them in a pan and covered with water, adding a couple of cloves and some grated ginger. I suspect I could have added more ginger and cloves but I thought it best to have too little than too much. I brought the pan to a boil and then reduced the heat and allowed them to cook for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally to break the apples up.

Once the apples had softened I was ready to strain off the liquid. I did that by lining a colander with a clean damp dishcloth. Then it was a matter of pouring the cooked apples into the colander which I had sitting over a large pan. I left it overnight to gradually drain through, so I now have a lovely pink liquid ready for the next stage. I’m not sure whether to squeeze the apple pulp to try and get more liquid out, or whether this will only result in making the liquid cloudy.

Tomorrow I will finish off the jelly by boiling the juice with some sugar until it is ready to set, and pour into some jam jars, hopefully I shall have enough. I’ll have to make some scones to have with it as I believe it’s a good combination.

Leave a Reply

Categories

