Posted by: sweetpea | October 20, 2006

Pasta with roast courgette, tomato, and buffalo mozzarella

One of the ways I deal with the glut of courgettes I get at the lottie is to roast them in batches. I chop them up, drizzle them with olive oil and sprinkle with some sea salt and herbs; usually I use thyme but I think oregano, marjoram etc would also do or a mixture.  Pop them in the oven, on 180C if you’re not in a rush but higher if you are.  I then check them from time to time until they look ready i.e. they’ve shrunk but haven’t yet burnt! (I have to confess that I do leave them in a little too long sometimes).

 

I do something similar with the tomatoes.  I skin them, sprinkle with olive oil, sea salt and basil, and roast until they start to brown on top.  I then remove them and squish them down, mashing a little, and return to the oven to let the juice reduce down, leaving me with a more intense flavoured ‘lumpy’ sauce.

 

I then fill small containers with half roast courgettes, and half roast tomatoes, and pop them in the freezer.  When I want an easy meal, all I have to do is cook some pasta, defrost one of the courgette and tomato sauces, combine and add some buffalo mozzarella chunks.  And voila!  I have a very tasty meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

