Posted by: sweetpea | February 1, 2007

Itchy fingers

This mild weather we’re getting is giving me itchy fingers.  The sun is shining and I want to be outside at the lottie planting things, or even a spot of digging would do, rather than being stuck inside in front of a computer!

My potatoes arrived last week and are sitting quite happily in the utility room.  I shall have to collect some egg boxes for chitting them.  I also have some Jerusalem artichokes, shallots and Oca ready to plant out.  My seed orders from ‘Real seeds’ and the HSL also arrived last week, somehow I managed to get 8 packets of seed from the HSL rather than the supposed 6 we are allowed to choose… although I didn’t get the ‘Afghan purple’ carrot that I really wanted, so a little disappointed there.  I’ve also received a lot of heritage climbing bean seeds from various seed swaps… I think I’m getting rather addicted to collecting seeds, there are so many different varieties to choose from!  I keep reading about what other people are growing and wanting to grow them too.  There are still a couple of things I’d like to get hold of, some coloured carrots and some mooli, but I’m sure there will be more to add to the list 🙂

So now that I have all these seed, I know I don’t have the space to grow them all, so I shall have to get digging down on the plot preparing some more new beds.  The asparagus beds are almost finished, and there will be a third permanent bed eventually that I plan to plant with some Globe Artichokes, and I think I’ll also pop some rhubarb in there too.  I’m also contemplating purchasing a grape vine and a couple of blueberry bushes, I love soft fruit in the summer so I want to try and concentrate on them this year as so far I have only been able to harvest blackberries and a few raspberries.

I need to add some more photo’s, I have them on my PC but haven’t had the time to upload them for ages, in fact I haven’t had much spare time to blog at all.  All the time I used to spend blogging I am now spending searching for info for my garden design course, which by the way I am still really enjoying even though it has taken over my room at home!  I have magazines and books all over the place waiting for me to look at them and hopefully gain inspiration from.  We are supposed to be sketching ideas for our gardens, the only problem is that all my sketches are in my head because I come up with my ideas when I’m not able to sketch!  Maybe I’ll spend tomorrow evening trying to remember some of them.

Whilst I’m looking for ideas for the garden, I’m also finding some ideas for the allotment.  I salvaged a number of large pallets last spring but didn’t get around to using them for anything last year.  This year I shall use them to edge some of the beds.  I also plan to construct a galvanised wire frame for the peas to climb up this year, it was a tip given by Bob Flowerdew in one of the old magazines, and as I haven’t had much luck with peas so far I think it is worth a try.

I do hope the weather stays good for the weekend so I can get down to the plot and potter for a while, especially as I didn’t get down there last weekend, but instead went for a lovely walk around Danby with friends.

Leave a Reply

Categories

