Posted by: sweetpea | February 5, 2007

Biodynamic gardening

This is just a quick additional post to mention that I  have decided to try and grow the biodynamic way this year.  I tried a couple of years ago but had trouble being organised enough to plant things at the right times.  As I’m feeling more organised this year I thought it might be worth giving it another go.

Last time I bought myself a biodynamic calender to work from, but this year I think I’m going to try and use the Gardeners calender site as a guide and see how I get on at least to begin with.  I started on Sunday by sowing some broad beans as it was supposed to be a good day to do so as it is a fruiting plant.  I’ve been wondering which plant grouping the asparagus comes under, in terms of it’s use it is a shoot, but I don’t seem to remember there being a ‘shoot’ category so I think I’m going to call it a ‘leaf’ crop. 

I am going to try and keep a planting diary and I might even try a few experimental sowings for comparison, so we shall see if it makes a difference.

Responses

  1. Hi Allotment Chick,
    Love your site, and thanks for the mention. Good luck with the Biodynamics, it has worked very successfully for many people, and I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised by the results. Just thought I would let you know that Asparagus is an earth plant.
    Cheers…Paul

  2. Thanks Paul, I guess it kind of makes sense that Asparagus is an Earth plant as we harvest it just as it is emerging from the earth. Shall keep an eye out for a suitable planting day.

  3. Oh I forgot to mention it is also known as a root plant, and should be planted on earth/root days. Different moon planting/biodynamic systems call them by different names. Hope the lottie is not suffering in the snow!

  4. It’s only just started snowing here, looks beautiful outside, although I am glad I’m sat indoors in the warmth. I guess I won’t be down on the plot digging this weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

