Posted by: sweetpea | March 14, 2007

Peas and Aubergines

As yesterday was a fruit day, I spent last night sowing some peas and Aubergines.  I’d pre-soaked the pea seeds (Sugar snap Delikett, and Mangetout ? variety) the previous night,and of course had soaked far too many, so I shall probably plant the leftovers direct once they’ve sprouted.  I realised that I haven’t actually got any garden peas, so I shall have to pick up some from the lottie shop at the weekend. 

I’m quite excited about the aubergines, as I have 5 varieties this year: Black beauty, Diamond, Rosa Bianca, Pin-tung long, and Thai long green.  I’ve sown 3 seeds of each with the intention of just having 2 plants of each, although I suspect when it comes down to it, if all seeds germinate, I’ll have difficulty disposing of the unwanted ones.  My back-up plan is to pot any extras up and take them to work to have on my windowsill, or possibly see if anyone would like them. 

Every morning since I sowed my sweet-peas and Lablab beans, I have been checking to see if there as been any signs of life, and this morning I was rewarded.  I still get really excited with the anticipation of new life, there’s something very magical about waiting for seeds to germinate and for the little seelings to show their little heads.

img_8390-sweet-pea-seedlings.JPG

Leave a Reply

Categories

