Posted by: sweetpea | March 21, 2007

Hyacinth bean

img_8437-lablab-seedling.JPG

This is one of my Hyacinth bean seedlings (also known as Lablab bean, Indian bean, Egyptian bean), the only other one to germinate so far looks pretty weedy, so I’m pinning all my hopes on this little chap unless any of the other 4 decided to surface.  It’s the first time I’ve grown them, so it’s going to be a bit hit and miss as to whether I’m successful.  I got the seed from yet another seedswap, and was told only that they needed an early start, so I’m hoping this is earlier enough.

The Hyacinth bean is apparently grown as a food crop in the tropics, but is also grown as an ornamental elsewhere, haven’t decided which it is to be with mine yet.  It appears that pretty much all the plant is edible, although I think you have to be careful with the beans themselves so I’ll have to research that, don’t want to make myself ill!  But even if I don’t get to eat any of it, it should hopefully produce purple flowers and it’s electric-purple pods.

Leave a Reply

Categories

