Posted by: sweetpea | May 23, 2007

Lottie update

img_8971-foxgloves.jpg

I thought I’d give a quick update on progress at the lottie as I’ve not had much time to write recently, something to do with organising this weekends trip to Chelsea…. I’m so excited 🙂

Anyhow, a couple of weekends ago I finished off the Waterbutt linking project, or at least I’d say 99% finished it, there is still one minor adjustment I need to make.  I had to pop back to B&Q yet again to fetch a bigger pipe and some connectors, the previous purchase not being suitable as despite the man in B&Q assuring me that I’d manage to get the pipes to fit together, I couldn’t manage it.  But finally the pipe linking the down pipe and the 3 waterbutts is now in place and working, and the 3 butts are linked, but so far there has only been enough rain for the second one to start filling up, but at least it proves that it is working.  The only slight adjustment that is needed now is a better seal on the pipe linking the first waterbutt to the downpipe as it drips a little, bathroom sealant was just a little too flexible to stay in place.

Last weekend I had Friday off work so I spent a good 7 hours down at the lottie. I always like to have a go at DIY but it’s a bit hit and miss as to how successful I am.  Friday it was a raised bed, or rather some edging for one of my beds. Although it isn’t exactly rectangular in shape, I’m rather proud of my first attempt, the others can only be better now I have an idea of what I’m doing!

img_8939-first-raised-bed.jpg

I planted out my sweetcorn, sunflowers, banana shallots and onions (I’m rather late I think as usual, but we’ll see what happens).  And then I decided to give the plot a good haircut before trying to cover sections with more black membrane so that each time I go down I’m not thinking that I must cut the grass all the time! 

My shallots are growing well, and a few of my overwintering onions, but most are still quite small.  The garlic is also doing well, so I’m looking forward to hopefully some decent bulbs this year.  The potatoes have shot up since the rain and I’m eagerly waiting for Gustav to mow the lawn again so I can use the grass clippings to mulch them.  I can see some baby broad beans developing now, and there seems little sign of blackfly so far so I’m putting off pinching out the tips for the moment.  The peas I sowed at home are doing great, a few flowers just starting to appear, but the ones I sowed direct are looking pretty miserable, so sowing at home is definitely the way to go.

In terms of sowing I have recently sown the following either on the plot or back home: Spinach, Rocket, Fennel, Beetroot, Turnip, Carots, Szorzorena, Kohl rabi, lettuce, cosmos (at least I think it’s cosmos, it could turn out to be salsify!), marigolds, mexican marigold, squash, courgettes, and probably a few others that I can’t remember right now.

Well I think that’s just about it for an update, probably missed some things out, but I think it covers most things.

I hope you like the photo of the fantastic foxglove I have growing next to my raspberries.  I keep looking out for biennial seedlings that have self seeded so I can make sure I have borage, teasle and foxgloves flowering each year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

