Posted by: sweetpea | April 10, 2008

It’s about time I start writting again I think!

Well, after a 6 month break I thought I might start blogging again….why have I been away for so long?  Well, to be honest, I haven’t a clue, I think I just lost interest in writting for a while, but here I am again with a whole new growing year ahead of me (well, in fact it is already well on it’s way!) and ready to write once more.

So, what have I been up to since last Sept?

Firstly I am still studying for the RHS Advanced certificate, but making much slower progress than I had hoped.  Having said that, I am working my way through it gradually and really enjoying it, just wish I could find more good study time i.e. other than after work when I’m too tired!

Secodly I have a new fella, who as lovely as he is, is I suspect not going to be helping down on the plot too much, but there is the long summer ahead so he may yet prove me wrong 🙂  But he is a great cook so hopefully with me growing the veg and him cooking it we should have a very tasty summer ahead.

Thirdly, I have attended a couple of workshops at Harlow Carr, one on Pruning and the other on Propagation, both great as usual.  I have also visited the garden a couple of times, I love the fact that there are new things to discover each time I go, and I’d thoroughly recommend the walk from the Valley gardens in Harrogate over the hill to Harlow carr, there are some great views from the top of the hill, and I love walking through the woods.

The lottie is looking good, I’m still preparing some of the beds for this year, but have already started planting.  I still have purple sprouting broccoli, kale, swiss chard, a chinese green (whose name I forget) to harvest.  Last Autumn I put in some overwintering onions, both Red (Electra) and White, some Shallots, and some garlic cloves from last year.  I saved the biggest garlic cloves from last years harvest, which hopefully will give me big cloves again this year, and if I keep doing this each year the garlic should just keep getting better and better as it gets used to the environmental conditions particular to my plot. 

So far this year I have got as far as chitting and planting my potatoes, which consist of First earlies  ()and Second earlies (Marfona, ), sowing my parsnips, and sowing peas (Kelvedon Wonder and Early Onward) indoors together with a selection of Sweat peas.

Finally, I think I should also mention that back in November I started spending one afternoon a week down at Middlethorpe Hall working with the two gardeners so that I can gain some much needed gardening experience.  So far I’m really enjoying it and learning loads, some of which I may share with you along the way together with the many photo’s I take whilst there as there are so many lovely plants to see.

Well I think that is probably enough of an update, I’m hoping I’ll manage to write at least once a week on what I’ve been up too gardening wise, so I’ll see you a bit later 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

