Posted by: sweetpea | May 8, 2008

Preparing for a holiday…..

pulmonaria

Summer is here at last, the sun is shinning and many of us will be getting ready to head off on holiday, me included…. in fact I am off tomorrow for a week of walking across the Lakes (did I mention I’m doing half the Coast to coast walk!).  In preperation for my week away I have not only been preparing for what I need to take with me, but also for what I am leaving behind….. my precious allotment, and more to the point my seedlings.

Now I’m pretty sure I’m not alone amongst lottie folk in worrying about my little plot while I’m away for anything more than a few days during the growing season.  Whilst I want sunny weather for my hols it’s not necessarily what I want for the lottie whilst I’m away as I can’t be there to water if there is a need.  Luckily I have a good friend and fellow lottie holder who I can always rely on to keep on eye on things whilst I’m away. This time I have only my pea and sweet pea seedlings that will need keeping an eye on, and I have also asked her if she can remove any dandelion flowers whilst I’m away (I’m really trying to keep on top of them this year).

Trickier to plan for are the seedlings I have at home, but again, luckily I have a housemate who has willingly taken on the challenge of looking after my precious babies whilst I’m away.  In preperation I have been potting up my cucurbitts into larger pots simply as I figured more compost means more water can be stored and they are less likely to dehydrate if it stays sunny.  Tonight I am doing the same with my tomato seedlings, although not into quite so large pots as there simply isn’t enough space!  I also have my little greenhouse outside which I am slightly concerned about in terms of it overheating.  I noticed yesterday that a few of my brassica seedlings had wilted and I suspect excessive heat may have been the culprit.  I think I may have to try and move it to somewhere a little more shaded whilst I’m away and leave one of the zips open a bit to allow some air in.

So I think all in all I am as prepared as I can be, and I just have to trust in my ‘babysitters’ to look after things whilst I’m away.  Now all I have to do is pack my rucksack and I’m off 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

